London Aquarium

As you can tell from my lack of posts, I’ve been rather busy recently – apologies for not updating the site for a while.

No worries though – my lovely friend Jon Forman recently went down to the London Aquarium and wrote this little review of it for your reading pleasure…

What the eff am I doing here?

I’ve taken my first day off since March, it’s a Monday, I’ve got a hangover and somehow in the deep and dark memory of last night (when she wasn’t drunk) my housemate has persuaded me this would be a good idea.

Ever get that thing where you kind of come-to and you’ve brought yourself to somewhere you might not quite want to be? This is one of those. Last time I came to somewhere like this I was 7 and in Scarborough. I think.

Things don’t immediately get any better. The invalid nature of my – now well out date – student card means I have to pay adult whack. Not a parent in sight to take the hit. £18….resists mentally converting this amount into the opportunity cost of something else. There’s also some shoddy attempt at cross marketing in the foyer; a lifeless Ant (or is it Dec?) tries in vain to point you in the direction of Madame Tussauds up at Baker Street.

Ahh but here are the fish! A quick skip down a flight of stairs – lift available – and you’re thrust into the heart of the ocean. The tanks are logically arranged (most boring first through to the Shark Walk finale i.e. we start with the coastal waters of Great Britain) and there’s a tonne of information to read. Any more of this and my day off is going to become a little too educational for my liking.

Leaving Blighty’s pond behind we take a trip around the world including the most exotic the Seas have to offer.  Highlights remain as they were back when I was 7 – sticking my hand in the tank with the Rays (though the sign says don’t touch) and the Sea Horses. Can you believe the Male carries the babies? I know!

Good day out (of the rain)

Our trip goes without a hitch, oh, except for the fire alarm going off twice. In all seriousness, it was a good day out, though some of the information boards looked a little tired and the Shark Walk wasn’t quite what I remember. Some would say that this can be explained away by the touristy City Hall location and the fact that I’m almost 25. If I had a serious criticism it would be that too many of the ‘exhibits’ were actually differing views into the same (admittedly interesting) tank. I would go again, although I think I’ll hold on until I have a child (or can at least borrow one) till the next time. You know what you’re getting with this kind of activity; out of the rain.

Prior to exiting, I made sure to collect my tacky London Aquarium Medal for completing all of my quiz questions correctly (advisory quiz age 6 to 10) so it’s not all bad.

I’d give it 6 ½ arbitrary stars out of 10.

London Aquarium costs £18 for adults (£16.20 online price), children 3-15 yrs costs £12.50 (£11.25 online price).

The Aquarium is located on the South Bank next to the London Eye.

Nearest Tubes: Westminster and Waterloo

Leave a comment

Filed under Central London

Leave a Reply

